Polls bad for ALP

According to The Australian this morning, Dennis Shanahan no less, the polls are bad for Gillard.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/national-affairs/coalition-takes-economy-labor-slumps-on-all-issues-newspoll/story-fn59niix-1226570381219

This looks a bit like post holiday blues to me.  Is that something that can happen to opinion polls?  So everyone’s unhappy to be back at work, and they get asked how they feel about the economy, interest rates etc etc.  And the answer is “I wish I was still on holiday drinking beer.”

It may be true that things really are this bad, but it just doesn’t quite ring true for me, so I’m waiting for a few more polls before I believe it.  Having said that, I do think that the Australian economy has slowed down a fair bit, and that it’s going to ripple through in the early part of this year, with people feeling some pain.  The numbers will get worse before they get better.

Leave a Reply

